Essential Epoch Dedicated Server Admin Tools

Hey guys,

I've been running dayz servers on dedicated machines since august of 2012.  Here are just a few of my favorite tools to help get the admin job done!  These may not be helpful to users who do not run dedicated.

DB Tool: dbForge for MySQL - yes it is a paid product but if you are familiar with MS Sql Mgmt Studio, this will feel very familiar to you.  In may ways it is better than MSSMS, with support for command line backups and restores, not to mention great access control and SQL query profiling.  I absolutely love this product and would recommend purchasing it.  The feature that really sells this for me is autocomplete, similar to intellisense, it helps write clear and concise code.

Log File Analyzer: LogExpert - Freeware software that makes real-time analysis of log files a breeze.  Supports real time tail with filtering and highlighting.

Diff and Merge Tool: Diffmerge - Excellent for getting binary differences in files.  Want to verify an update made changes to file X?  diffmerge!

File/Folder Search Tool: WinGrep - Linux users will be familiar with grep and how useful it is.  WinGrep provides us a graphical interface to query files or directories for reference to your search string.  Supports quick and regex searches.  Great for looking up GUIDs in log files and finding references to variable names.

Service Control: Daemon tools Pro - Another paid solution.  This program allows us to make services out of executables. For those uninitiated, services are like linux daemons.  They monitor an EXE to make sure it is up and allow us to run pre and post startup commands.  While there are free versions of similar software, this is simply the best.  Also grants access to remote web panel for admins to restart/stop/start services remotely.

PBO Packer/Unpacker: PBO Manager - Pretty much a requirement if you plan on doing any modding in arma2.