New to script editing

Tullerusk

Question

Hi.

I'm completely new to server management, scripting, coding etc.
I thought that by renting a server all I had to do was place a couple of files and suddenly everything would work :P

I am willing to learn, so I have looked through countless threads, guides and post on your site. I've managed to edit a few things, like the welcome message and such.
Many guides say: "Simply open the mission.pbo file in a pbo manager and then edit this and this, pack it again and your done". 

In the file manager on my hosts site, I have no idea where to find these .pbo files. I dont know which ones I can edit and which ones I should stay completely away from.
I get that scripting and coding is a matter of trying, testing and failing, but I dont even know where to start.

If somebody could just say something along the lines of: "Ok, your server is running on these files, they are placed in these folders in your file manager, and they are the ones you should edit" I would be very grateful. 

All I want to do is add a few simple scripts, like coins, adv. traders and missions.

I've added a screenshot of what my file manager looks like. Epoch 1.0.6 and Overwatch currently running

heyo.jpg

@Tullerusk

well see.. you have 3 diferents locations for files. (talking about epoch server)

1-@ Dayz_Epoch.

2-@ Dayz_Server.

3-Mpmissions.

1-@ Dayz_Epoch. contain a lot of important files that you will need to edit for each mod. the 3 most importants are "compiles.sqf" "variables.sqf" and "fn_selfactions.sqf".

But the problem is that all content into this folder cannot be edited from this location. So for example if a mod ask you for a changes in a compiles.sqf  you need drop the compiles.sqf out of @Dayz_Epoch and place into Mpmissions\instance_11.chernarus\.

then you will need find where the game are calling this compiles,sqf.. and change the path.