vehicle keys

Achmed

How are the vehicle keys done in the database?

I have a player who suffered a glitch and died from it loosing his keys.

Im wanting to see about adding the key back in the database but cant work out how the number is related to the vehicle

• 1 month later...

You're better as a moderator to turn off the keys all together and rebind the vehicles to the player guid by commenting out the key process in the self fnc sqf.

If you decide to keep the keys it's easier and smarter to bind the player uid to the vehicle than to start handing out gold.

I got 5 requests a day to replace keys cause they "lost" it. Moved to uid binding at purchase and nothing...so nice

how would you go about binding the player UID to vehicles and removing the keys? im sick of working out what one of my 5 yellow keys belong to what vehicle.

im a complete noob at this so i wouldnt really know what i am doing but i have managed to do things if i have the correct instructions in front of me

• 3 weeks later...

Not sure if its still of interest - but here is the way to recover a lost key:

1. Go into MySQL database and look up the vehicle id. Table is Object_DATA, field is charcterID

2. Search for that ID in the attached key definition list. So you find out the key id connected to that respective character ID.

(You can get the list HERE)

3. Place the respective key in the respective players inventory via MySQL character_DATA table.

Example:

Character ID of vehicle is 8126. When you look up that in the list you see that a yellow key with the ID "ItemKeyYellow626" is tied to character ID 8126. Place that key in the players inventory and that was it.

Doesn't solve the problem of knowing which of my yellow keys I will have to use for a certain vehicle though.

Would be better if the key ID (i.e. 626) or the respective vehicle ID (i.e. 8126), ideally together with the vehicles name (i.e. SUV Blue) would be displayed with the key in inventory.