Custom buildings

BetterDeadThanZed

Question

I've been running a Chernarus server for a few months and previously I added custom buildings via the database. These buildings spawned loot and zedz. It's my understanding that since Epoch doesn't use the database for custom buildings, they are loaded on the client, which makes it so zedz and AI can see through them, plus they don't spawn loot or zedz. Also, adding buildings via sqf file and linked via the init file, creates a large mission file, which is undesirable.

So, my question is this: Will there be a way to add custom buildings in Epoch using the database in future versions? 

7 answers to this question

Hey

Problem here is that some of the building in the editor are not setup to spawn stuff. On my server, we have got many addition buildings that have loot and zeds. What you need to do is change the class names in the sqf file you add.

This url has most of the information you need to swap the class names: http://picacid.com/arma2/loot_en.html

Example:

This code was generated in the editor, I placed a supermarket in stary but as is, it will not spawn loot

_vehicle_0 = objNull;
if (true) then
{
  _this = createVehicle ["MAP_A_GeneralStore_01", [7105.5522, 7802.2627, -0.99499023], [], 0, "CAN_COLLIDE"];
  _vehicle_0 = _this;
  _this setDir -102.32523;
  _this setPos [7105.5522, 7802.2627, -0.99499023];
};

But if you look at that link, change the class name from "MAP_A_GeneralStore_01" to "Land_A_GeneralStore_01", 

_vehicle_0 = objNull;
if (true) then
{
  _this = createVehicle ["Land_A_GeneralStore_01", [7105.5522, 7802.2627, -0.99499023], [], 0, "CAN_COLLIDE"];
  _vehicle_0 = _this;
  _this setDir -102.32523;
  _this setPos [7105.5522, 7802.2627, -0.99499023];
};

Now the supermarket will spawn loot and zombies!