Walking Dead Zombies

MisterSunshine

Question

I will start with, I am a major noob when it comes to coding of any kind. I am trying to get the zombies walking only, no more balls to the wall sprint to close distance. I have done this easily with vanilla DayZ but I'm having a bit of trouble getting it to work with DayZ Epoch. I change forceSpeed to 2 in control_zombieAgent.sqf but they still run at full speed.

So then I tried looking around for another zombie chase code in other files. I went into zombie_agent.fsm and changed the forceSpeed in the chase area to 2 as well. This makes the zombies stop running but they don't appear to be "seeing" the player. They will move toward a player if the player makes a noise but I can run in front of them and they continue to loiter. If I move within strike range the zombie will still attack. 

I've not messed with the FSM file before and I'm not sure what it is used for but is it a "no-no" to edit it? Does anyone have a suggestion of where to look to try to make the zombies walk and still chase the player on sight? Any suggestions on what I may be doing wrong?

Also, I am hosting the server on an HP mini server at my house for a small number of friends to play around on. Not serious at all but we like the "Walking Dead" zombies style. If you think walking zombies would be too difficult to get working with Epoch let me know. I like the traders and economy system of Epoch but I am open to other mods that may work better for us.

Thank you for any help you can provide.

Can you please explain how you did it?

Where i Find the file to change and what exactly i have to change?

would be very nice, greetz Scarlet

Sure, just extract dayz_code.pbo, in the compile folder open control_zombieAgent.sqf. Scroll down to the "//CHASE TARGET" section and change "_agent forceSpeed 8" to "_agent forceSpeed 2" (without quotes of course). (This may not be required now but I haven't tested it without the change and it works like this)