Help us learn from your mistakes

Irish_BoB

Question

Hey guys, Irish_BoB here and im a flithy bandit....Its been 8 hours since my last murder :mellow:

The Dayz mod in its various forms has been my primary game since about August 2012 and I still to this day get 'those dayz feels'. I've been a long time player on numerous servers over the years, putting in a shamefull amount of hours into this game (lets not get bogged down in numbers but suffice to say its at least 2.5k hrs that i don't even want back)

Its only recently that I've thought about launching my own server, tailored to my liking. I'm completely new to adding scripts to a server, however,all the helpful guides on this forum have helped immensely and i seem to be getting on OK.

Basically I was wondering if any of the experienced scripters and server admins have any advice for a budding server admin like myself.....Stuff they would of liked to know when they were starting out, stuff that might be hidden somewhere on this forum if I looked hard enough, Stuff like :

• Do any scripts benefit from installing them in a particular order and if so what should be first?
  • Are there any scripts that just work really well together (pp4l, SnapPro, vector etc)
  • Which scripts in your experience are the best in their field at what they do (which SelfBB script, which Tow&Lift script, Deploy bike etc.)
  • How do i get rid of the default vehicle wrecks everywhere (sorry, common question im sure)
  • What combination of antihacks should I use? Is infistar worth it (I know its not supported on this forum)
  • Any tools that you feel are just helpful in anyway?

Obviously they're just examples but truthfully, I and others im sure would be grateful for any advice to help u son our journey. Im sure I'll stumble onto the answer to all these from trial and error but I'd love to hear your opinions.

Thanks if you make it this far :)

5 answers to this question