Saving my server files

Home Sweet Home

Question

Hello everyone, 

I am very new to hosting a server and normally I am quite good with computers (software and hardware).

I just seem to have a hard time when it comes to the files and .dll and DB and what not.

If someone could talk me through how exactly and what exactly to do if I want to save my server in terms of what people have built on it and their gear etc. 

I would like to change the restart timer from 2 to 4hrs, enable side chat (I need to extract some pbo file?? O.O), 

and eventually add AI missions and have a status bar (still need to know how to do that as well :-( )

Since there were already people building bases and looting gear I would like to save that progress before messing around and then having to reinstall the server because I changed a wrong parameter or something. 

EDIT: I only know I am supposed to save my database, mission file and server file, but like I said, kinda lost which files they are and where. 

5 answers to this question

There's many ways to Rome, so you wiill get tons of different answers.

For restarts, look up templates posted in this forum for BEC scheduler.XML

If you want to change settings, a lot can be done by editing the epochconfig.hpp etc

Adding custom stuff in PBO files means you need PBO manager, maybe elitness (google arma elitness) to unscramble mission.sqm files etc.

But, I have 12 years of experience with OFP/Arma, so for me editing stuff is so "natural" that I probably skip a lot of obvious things....

To give you an example of the side chat :

1] Get PBO manager

2] Open mpmissions\yourmap.pbo

3] Copy and paste the description.ext to a folder

4] Open that file in an editor

5] Change : disableChannels[]={0,1,2,6}   to disableChannels[]={0,2,6};

6] Safe the file

7] Cut and paste the file back in the PBO root which you still have opened in your pbo manager