Getting to Know the Base DayZ/Epoch Mod

Kisvakond

Question

Hi all,

I'm new to DayZ scripting and I'm planning to make a DayZ mod, based on some ideas about DayZ:

(http://dayzepoch.com/forum/index.php?/topic/3457-long-term-game-objectives/)

Since some of the ideas are apparently beyond the limits of the base Dayz/Epoch mechanics, I'm looking for a guide which would help getting to know how the DayZ and the Epoch mode is composed. Since the code in the PBO's are rarely commented and loosely structured (first impression, correct me if I'm wrong), I will definitely need mod-specific info where to find what. I've also seen SQL databases and scripts which gave new ideas but if anyone here has an overview how DayZ and Epoch internally work, please let me know. Any pieces of info would help to solve the puzzle.

I'm still studying the PBO language and how the script interact with the mission file, but I can see in advance that the original DayZ mechanics will have to be changed.

e.g.: DayZ spawns Z's in a given area when the player appoaches buildings in that area. But I would like to have the Z-spawn wok conditionally, e.g. areas 'liberated' would no longer spawn Z's when a survivor approaches them.

Any help or reference would be appreciated.

Thank you very much in advance!

EDIT

Does anybody know anything about this (see #8) ?

Cheers

Kisvakond

5 answers to this question

Not impossible to do, but yea i would say for someone who has no experience at all it could be very frustrating... Most of us who claim to be fairly good scripters ( pls note the "claim" ;) ), have been doing this for at least a year, most longer..